An applicant for a first-time Minnesota teaching license must take the following:

  • A test of general pedagogy which consists of two sub-tests
  • A test of content knowledge for the specific licensure field which consists of two sub-tests (with the exception of elementary content knowledge which consists of three sub-tests).

The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB), formerly the Minnesota Board of Teaching, has adopted the following passing scores for these exams:

MTLE Pedagogy and Content Exams

All Subtests > 240

Graduation Requirement
Students must show evidence of having passed all the required licensure examinations.  MTLE Pedagogy and Content Area tests need to be passed by September 15 or February 15 of the graduation semester.  If these tests are not passed, candidates are not eligible for initial Minnesota licensure.

In addition to the MTLE Testing Chart and Minnesota Special Education Teacher Licensure Testing Chart the students have information on the Portal (Grades>Tests) with a listing of required tests.

MTLE Homepage – Registration

Dates and Sites

Preparation Materials

Scores and Testing History

Testing Policies

Alternative Testing Arrangements